Twelve Days #4: My Busiest Season

Today’s topic is focused on a general look at my busiest season for anime that I can remember (and I’m pretty sure it was my busiest one ever), which was Summer 2015. For that one season I watched A LOT of shows. Not for any specific reason, which I’ll talk about, but the fact remains that I watched a lot and I managed to finish quite a lot. And yes, here, have a cute girl from a show from that season.

hajimessu

So the list is what I’ll go over now just to give you all an idea of what I suffer through on some seasons. The shows I watched were:

  1. Akagami no Shirayukihime
  2. Gakkou Gurashi
  3. Gangsta.
  4. Gatchaman Crowds: Insight
  5. GATE
  6. Joukamachi no Dandelion
  7. Non Non Biyori Repeat
  8. Rokka no Yuusha
  9. Shimoneta
  10. Ushio to Tora
  11. Go! Princess Pretty Cure
  12. Wakaba Girl
  13. Arslan Senki
  14. Ore Monogatari!
  15. Durarara!!x2 Ten

Additionally, I dropped shows like Classroom Crisis, Charlotte, Dragonball Super (off and on), and others after watching several episodes, for one reason or another.

So why choose this topic? Well, it was just kind of interesting to be watching so many things at one time. I know this isn’t the most someone’s done by any means but it’s the most I’ve done and I was almost overwhelmed.

There were a few weekends in which I was gone or busy and came back and realized that I had ten episodes of stuff to watch. Getting through it ALMOST became a chore thanks to the less than stellar quality of a lot of these shows. But for some reason I couldn’t bring myself to drop any of them.

Arslan Senki and Ore Monogatari I kept up until this point because I didn’t really want to drop a show in its second cour, I wanted to have it “finished” so I could just mark it as such on MAL. For Durarara… it waxes and wanes. I was really interested in a lot of what was going on this season, but it eventually fell off.

As for the other stuff, I just… got invested into what was going on. Or I was into it for the designs, in the case of GATE or Joukamachi no Dandelion. Obviously for a lot of these shows I wasn’t in it because I thought they had amazing plots. They just… kind of entertained me when I wanted to be entertained.

Gatchaman Crowds: Insight really didn’t appeal to me politically, as I felt it was trying to do. It sure as hell caused a lot of controversy with its material though. Gangsta killed Manglobe (just kidding). Rokka no Yuusha had my attention for a little bit but ultimately ruined what it was trying to do with some very poor writing.

I think the strongest shows of the season, honestly, were Gakkou Gurashi, Shimoneta, Akagami no Shirayukihime, and Non Non Biyori Repeat. Not necessarily in that order either. Shimoneta resonated with my inner Seitokai Yakuindomo fan, Non Non Biyori Repeat had some powerful moments, Shirayukihime was sweet, and Gakkou Gurashi felt like it managed to strike a good balance between moe and horror, which surprised me.

One major thing I happened to take note of when all these shows started to end is that it’s frustrating when some of these shows claim to be 1 cour or 2 cour and then suddenly tease you with a “to be continued” ending. In GATE’s case I’ll forgive it since I wasn’t really desperate to continue it and it gave the viewers enough notice that it was changing. Gangsta and Arslan, however… let’s just say I’ll be watching Arslan season 2 with my finger over the “dropped” button. And I won’t be watching Gangsta season 2 cause that’s never happening.

Coming off the season though I noticed that I suddenly had more free time than I used to. When I mentioned these weekends where I was busy, the rest of the week would be taken up by taking out chunks of the backlog from the week, perhaps fitting in an episode of Cardcaptor Sakura if I wasn’t totally burnt out of anime watching.

Looking back on it, the piling on of all these shows is something I probably won’t do again. I don’t really REGRET watching any of these shows but after the season was done I was kind of like “I could have spent that time watching better shows instead of getting burnt out on shows that I barely enjoy.” The following season, Fall 2015, I’ve picked up significantly fewer, finding it obviously much easier to keep up with.

Yeah so anime is cool. But just like everything else there is there’s a lot of anime and a lot of it can be bad or mediocre. What I’ve realized is there’s a lot of shows I need to see still and while it’s easier for me to watch shows from week to week, I need to push myself to even just watch one episode of a show a night. I managed to get done Mawaru Penguindrum like that, and hope to finish others too in a similar manner. Thanks for reading 🙂

One thought on “Twelve Days #4: My Busiest Season

  1. “some of these shows claim to be 1 cour or 2 cour and then suddenly tease you with a “to be continued” ending.”
    Durarara too. Honestly, I’m not even sure why I’m still watching it at this point, other than being somewhat of a “completionist”, lol. I do like S1 but not as much as other people, and S2 is just super dragged out and watching it even feels like a chore. I’m still wondering if I want to watch the third cour this Winter, but if it’s really (and I mean really), the final cour, I might as well just finish it up.

    I do agree about Non Non Biyori and Gakkou Gurashi though-both of them are my favorite Summer anime :p

    Like

Leave a Reply

